Land classifications

​​​​​​​​​​For the purposes of land tax, there are three land classifications:
  • General Land
    ​​This includes properties such as rental, holiday homes, vacant or commercial land. This land is taxable.

  • Principal Residence Land​
    There is a dwelling on this land. The property must be where the owner (who has at least a 50 per cent interest in the land) resides as their principal place of residence. This means it is where they ordinarily eat and sleep. This land is not taxable. 
  • Primary Production Land​
    The property must be used substantially for the business of primary production undertaken with a reasonable expectation of profit. ​Alternatively, it may be a private timber reserve, permanent timber production zone or have in effect a certified practices plan. This land is not taxable.
Refer to the Land tax guideline​ for additional information.

Change in land classification

If land ceases to be principal residence, primary production or exempt land, you must:
​​  ​

Apportionment of land

Land classified as Principal Residence Land is not ordinarily subject to land tax.

Section 26 of the Land Tax Act 2000 provides that, where the land is also used for purposes other than as the owner's or related person's principal residence, the Commissioner is required to apportion the land value of the land between Principal Residence Land (not ordinarily taxable) and General Land (taxable).  

Land tax is then payable for any part of the land used exclusively for other purposes as though it were General Land. 

​Refer to the Land tax and apportionment of principal residence land guideline for more information.


Back Home